Re-elect John Launch
Re-elect John Launch

Welcome to Keighley Labour

We are a friendly, passionate and active group, always looking to expand our membership.

In the 2017 election, the people of Keighley elected our Labour candidate John Grogan to represent them.

With your help we will keep it that way with the aim of returning a Labour Government which will work for the many not the few.


John Grogan – Pride, Passion and Belief in Keighley and Ilkley.

John Grogan, is a man of experience, serving in Parliament for over 15 years. He first campaigned in Keighley for MP Bob Cryer in the 1979 General Election and is contesting this seat for the third time. John is the man to get things done for the area. These are examples of his current activity.

Environment – John is working closely with campaign groups to stop the proposed incinerator at Marley and the discharge of sewage into the River Wharfe at Ilkley. Labour’s Green New Deal will help the U.K. hit targets to cut net carbon emissions to zero by 2030.

Housing – John helped secure a reduction in housing targets for every settlement in the Constituency which will mean more building on brownfield sites and less on Greenbelt. A Labour Government will offer grants and loans to install loft insulation, double glazing and renewable technologies in every UK home.

Transport – John has secured a promise from Network Rail to refurbish Keighley Station in time for its 175th anniversary in 2022. By the end of the year Bradford Council have promised him they will publish a plan for a crossing of the Aire Valley Road between Silsden and the station. Next year the task will be to fund it. Having helped save the school bus in Ilkley and Addingham he is leading the campaign to get a new Hoppa commuter bus in the town.

Sport and Leisure – John helped bring about a fresh start for Keighley Cougars which has been under new ownership since January 2019. He has worked closely with other organisations to help deliver a new Parkrun in Keighley, a Half Marathon in Ilkley, a new scouts/ youth centre in Riddlesden and the first ever Keighley Arts and Film Festival. He is defending Ilkley and Keighley Libraries by lobbying Bradford Council but also by working to elect a Labour Government which will fund local government properly.

Yorkshire – John is leading the fight in Parliament to get more decisions taken about issues such as transport and the economy in Yorkshire and not in London. Experts say this will lead to a big boost in growth and jobs in the county. The Yorkshire identity and brand can attract investment from around the world.

Standing up for Keighley People – John has held over 250 advice surgeries in the Constituency helping more than 2500 people. Labour will replace Universal Credit and strengthen the rights of private tenants and low paid workers

Health – A Labour Government will say yes to the much-needed upgrade at Airedale Hospital that was turned down by the Conservatives

Schools – Under the Tories Keighley’s schools have lost an average of £409 per pupil in real terms between 2015-2020. Only Labour will fund our schools properly.

Railways – Labour will bring the railways into public ownership and put passengers first. The Skipton to Colne Line will be reopened.

Young and old – Labour will restore free TV Licenses for the over 75’s and everybody in work will be entitled to a living wage of £10 an hour.

Fighting crime – Having delivered funding for a new police station in Keighley town centre, coming in 2021, I will fight hard to get more police throughout the constituency.

Link to Instagram Link to Twitter Link to YouTube Link to Facebook Link to LinkedIn Link to Snapchat Close Fax Website Location Phone Email Calendar Building Search